The United Kingdom'sGarry Tilburn, managing director ofReed Boardall Cold Storage Ltd., North Yorkshire, will serve as 2011-12 chairman for theInternational Association of Refrigerated Warehouses(IARW), the world's largest group of public refrigerated warehouse operators.

IARW members elected new officers at during the group's recent annual meeting in New Orleans. IARW, Alexandria, Va., said Tilburn is the fourth European to serve at the organization's chairman.

Other new IARW officers elected for the coming year were Vice Chairman David Harlan (president and CEO,United States Cold Storage, Inc.) and Treasurer Doug Thomas (president and CEO,Bellingham Cold Storage).

New directors-at-large members elected to serve three-year terms were Terry Brown (president, ICS Logistics, LLC), Eben James (president and CEO, Trenton Cold Storage, Inc.), and Joel Smith (CEO, VersaCold Canada).

In addition, Angelo Antoci (president, U.S. Growers Cold Storage, Inc.) was elected as the representative from the South Pacific Chapter and Karen Reece (vice president, Eskimo Cold Storage, LLC) was elected as the Southeastern Chapter Representative.


New IARW Chairman Garry Tilburn (left) presents outgoing Chairman Mark Blanchard (right) with a commemorative plaque at the 2011 IARW-WFLO Annual Convention & Expo.