The National Frozen & Refrigerated Foods Association (NFRA) elected its Association Officers and Members of the Board of Directors for 2023-2024 at its annual board of directors meeting on October 7.

Neil Ritchey, vice president, Consumer Brands, InnovAsian Cuisine Enterprises, has been elected to serve as chairman of the board. Ritchey has served on the board since 2013 and served as chairman-elect from 2022-2023. Ritchey is also a member of the Honorable Order of Golden Penguins.

Other officers announced at the meeting were: Tracy Aquila, Southeastern Grocers, chairman-elect; Bill Kynast, Chobani Global Holdings, secretary; Mark Tarzwell, Ateeco, Inc./Mrs. T’s Pierogies, treasurer; Tye Anthony, Associated Wholesale Grocers (AWG), vice chairman – frozen and Tony Battaglia, Lactalis American Group, vice chairman – refrigerated.

Newly elected to the board were: Richard Akins, Harris Teeter; Lindsey Hickey, Simek’s; Mike Ridenour, UNFI and Zak Lowe, Land O’Lakes Foods. 

Re-elected to the board were: Bob Brown, Jewel-Osco; Tom Robaczewski, Bimbo Bakehouse and Kellie Shetlar, Conagra Brands.

A full list of 2023-2024 Board of Directors, Advisory Directors and Council Members can be found here.

Other highlights from the 2023 convention include:

Record-Breaking Attendance: With close to 1,600 attendees, this year’s event boasted a record-breaking number of participants, highlighting the industry's commitment to meeting in-person with trading partners.

Café NFRA: Café NFRA served as a hub for networking and collaboration, providing attendees with a dynamic setting to connect, share industry insights, and establish meaningful partnerships, while experiencing offerings from emerging and established brands.

Refrigerated Hall of Fame Inductees: The Refrigerated Food Hall of Fame, established in 2010, recognizes outstanding individuals in the refrigerated food industry. Joe D’Alberto, Director of Sales for Acosta Sales & Marketing, and Skip Shaw, retired President & CEO of NFRA, were honored during the ceremony.

Top Marketers Honored: The prestigious 2023 Golden Penguin Awards for exceptional achievements in marketing and merchandising within the frozen and refrigerated foods industry were presented. These awards spotlight innovative marketing strategies and creative merchandising efforts that have played a pivotal role in driving success. This year’s Top Marketers, recognized for their outstanding contributions, include the Frozen & Refrigerated Food Council of Northern California, Tru Fru, Price Chopper/Market 32, RDD Associates, UNFI, Land O’Lakes, Brookshire Grocery Company, Mid-Atlantic Division, Bubbies Ice Cream, and Rouses Markets.

Annual Membership Meeting: During the 79th Annual Membership Luncheon, NFRA elected its association officers and members of the Board of Directors for 2023-2024, with Neil Ritchey of InnovAsian Cuisine Enterprises serving as Chairman of the Board. The Board recognized Jeff Rumachik, current President & CEO, on his contributions to the association and industry as he transitions into retirement at the end of 2023; Tricia Greyshock, EVP/COO, will officially transition to President & CEO beginning January 2024.

Mark your calendars for next year! The 2024 NFRA Convention will be held at the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, National Harbor, Maryland, October 5-8, 2024. Registration opens March 1.

About National Frozen & Refrigerated Foods Association (NFRA)
NFRA is a non-profit trade association representing all segments of the frozen and refrigerated foods industry. NFRA sponsors national promotions ReDiscover Dairy & Frozen (January), March Frozen Food Month, June Dairy Month and Summer Favorites Ice Cream & Novelties (June/July); and provides consumer information such as food safety guidelines, meal preparation tips, recipes and sweepstakes opportunities through its Easy Home Meals consumer website and social media properties.